Comedy Gold: The Trip. 

So, this story sums up the cheekiness of one of my new basketball team mates. Well, after 2 years with the team now we still have a giggle when we chat about this particular one. 

I look back on this story with embrassment and with a smile on my face. 

The team is a friendly one and always up for a laugh. So, a laugh at my expense was not going to come cheap!

After warming up and doing our usual shooting drill from various spots in and around the key it was time to look at dribbling under pressure. As a shooting guard or point guard these two skills, for me, are an important part of my game. Dribbling being a part of this particular comedy gold moment. 

The mens team had a game after our training session and their coach was sorting their kit out and the bag was on the side line.  

The particular drill we were doing was one where the player dribbling the ball had to loose the defending player. 

Curry showing how it’s done. 

As usual I went with the other point guard who is ten times better than me! Little did I know how sly her tactics would be. We will come back to this. 

So, after a few times zig zagging up and down the court and myself being in a rather unhappy mood. I can’t remember why, my team mate tries to cheers me up!! 

Did it work? Well let’s put it this way. She was crying with laughter, I was red with embrassment. The rest of the team were trying to piece together what and how this moment of comedy gold happened. 

Here it goes. It was my turn to defend. I am starting to try and turn up the defensive pressure on a good point guard. Her tactics I can only describe as a moment of pure evil!!!! However, she was clearly thinking out side the box or bag!!! 

Remember the coach sorting the kit out for the mens game? 

Yes, well this bag ended up on the court some how! No, not in the centre on the left hand side of me. I had passed it the previous time and thought “someone will move that”. Now at this point my healthy and safety alarm should have started ringing big time, as it should have done with my team mate. We are both pe teachers by trade. As you can read my alarm started bleeping. However, it was obvious that the alarm needed to ring instead of bleep. 

The next moment resulted in me turning bright red and laughing until my sides hurt.  

It’s like a video on You’ve Been Framed. Guess what happens next?? 

Now if you guessed that I jumped over it? Wrong, if you thought I picked it up and moved it, wrong again. 

If you guessed that my team mate spotted it and pretty much moved me into the kit bag you guessed correctly. However, what you might not have guessed is the final part if this comedy gold. 

Imagine something out of Benny Hill, or Morecambe and Wise and you might just have the start of what the outcome was. However, if the name Miranda means anything to you, you can imagine the outcome. “Such fun”. 

I was walked backwards straight into the bag. My feet got caught in the handles, I slipped and away I went. Arse over tit. Excuse the language. I fell into the bag and that is where I stayed for the next few minutes gathering what just happened, my team mate wetting herself and the rest wondering how on earth I had ended up in the bag. 

Similar to this but in a bag. 

The bag was that big you could have zipped me up and taken me away. 

I can only describe what it felt like, which was one of those comedy moments when someone falls into a bin and has their legs and arms sticking out, while their actual body is stuck. You know the ones I mean. How embrassing!!!! But such fun!! 

Like this. 

To top it off, in the scrimmage towards the end of the session, I have also learnt to tie my shorts up as they ended up around my ankles pretty much. Thanks team mate. 

After all life is about making memories! Even ones you want to forget but can’t. 

Leave a Reply

