Fitness Freak 

I love my sport and fitness. 

Before meeting my wonderful husband, who eventually joined in with my massive love of fitness even more, having a nasty injury and having my beautiful daughter my week pretty much consisted of: working as a pe teacher, before teaching got even more mental. That’s a different blog. Gym 4-5 times a week and basketball, my favourite sport.

 At a mere 5 ft 2, I am probably the SHORTEST player EVER for my age!! I have been playing for around 25 years!!! We will leave it at that!

The shortest player ever in the NBA was  Muggsy Bogues at 5 ft 3 or Spudd Webb, at a taller 5ft 7, who won a slam dunk contest in 1987!!!! If my memory serve me well. My age might have caused a memory issue!! 

At my peak of training, in my mid 20s, a good 2 hours was spent at the gym. Monday was weights before half hour spin and kettle bell class, Tuesday weights before an hours spin. Wednesday was weights followed by half hour spin then core stability with a bit of circuits. Thursday was basketball training or games depending on when in the season.  Saturday was spin for 45 mins followed by core for half an hour then usually, a hefty pt session with the best personal trainer I have experienced. I would not go to anyone else unless I had too. She also developed my love of spin. She was the best spin instructor I have ever experienced. There has only been one that came close second. I would love for this person  to train me again. She did for a bit but unfortunately work and life for us both made it more difficult. I am at a different gym now to the one she currently works in. 

I was at my peak. I could play a full basketball game and still have energy to play another. I loved that fact. 

Spin has to be one of my all time favourite classes. 

Good way of interval training. 

I love being a mummy but me time is needed too. As a family we are quite lucky that we can go to a David Lloyd gym. How can we afford that I hear you ask? My husband pays for it and the reasons we chose it was because  it was 15 mins down the road, our daughter could go into the crèche when she was younger and we can take her swimming. Rephrase that. I do. My husband doesn’t like it. Not a problem though as it’s time for my daughter and me. Now she is three she is able to go to their children activity sessions. Which is good for her as they are active sessions and she is getting used to going to the gym, which hopefully she will continue. Also, it is a  chance to develop her social skills and not be glued to mummy and daddy all the time. 

So what do I do or did do?

I like to train on my own and do my own thing. Sometimes I also have programmes set by the instructors and try to do some classes. Time is limited now so the more I can achieve in the time I have the better. 

Over the years I have really enjoyed a number of different classes.  Body Step, Body Attack, Spin, Circuits, Sh’bam, Body Balance,  Kettle Bells, Core Stability and currently Synergy also known as HITT Training and Les Mills GRIT.  

I have even done Insanity!!!!! 

I think you can see that I like the hard  sessions e.g. HITT, GRIT which is pretty similar and jumping around like a mad thing in Body Attack , as well fun ones like Sh’bam which is great dance aerobics.

Body Attack 

Sh’bam
 Also, some supposedly relaxing ones like Body Balance. This can also be quite challenging holding some of the moves. It’s a mixture of tai chi, yoga and pilates in one class. It’s brilliant. 

See what I mean about some of positions you have to try and hold!!!! 

I have just finished a course in pre and postnatal exercise programme design and this is an area I would like to explore and as well as finishing my circuit training course. 

I wish I had known half the things I knew now when I was pregnant with my daughter. My exercise regime would have been so much better and more effective. However, I was in pretty good shape after returning from injury and not in bad shape now three years later after having my daughter. 

The only thing I had to come to terms with is change in shape and the post natal tummy that I am working on even now.  However, to be fair my husband doesn’t have a problem with it and I am now more comfortable with my body. I am probably more healthly looking now between  9 and half stone and 10 than I was when I was training hard at 9 stone and not taking time to allow my body the rest and recovery it needed. I would say this is part of the reason for my horrible ankle injury. 

However,  I look back on my time as a fitness freak with pride as I got to meet a good friend who was the spin and pt instructor and without her knowledge I would not have had played my best basketball or attended her wedding which was simply stunning in everyway. Thank you. 

Some of our nights out were epic but those are for a different time and blog. 

After all it’s about making memories and cherishing every moment. Making friends, remembering the good times, the bad ones and mistakes to be learnt from but living life. 

Leave a Reply

